Sandy Chen

The Quest on Becoming A Nerd: A Declaration

Posted on: January 10, 2010

For those of you that are just visiting for the first time, I’m Sandy Chen. Some of you know me, some of you don’t. As I continue to blog, you’ll no doubt get to know me better.

But today, I want to make a personal declaration. A declaration for myself to embark on the quest of becoming a little more of a nerd than at the moment.

My inspiration for this quest mainly comes from two people: Jack Chen and Andrew Currie. Jack is my brother. He’s THE nerd in my family. He’s a geneticist who loves comic books, anime, along with slapping pieces of computer parts together in order to make himself a PC. Andrew Currie is a good friend of mine whom I first met through The Second City. Andrew was my conservatory program teacher, and we quickly became friends. He’s also the director for my sketch comedy troupe Asiansploitation (we’re uber awesome by the way). Andrew is a hard core mobile phone junkie, a Linux lover, as well as a crusader for all forms of “open-source”, whether it be software, unlocked phones, etc…if you’re interested in getting to know Andrew Currie better, visit his website http://openattitude.com

I’ve always found Jack and Andrew’s nerdy disposition extremely appealing. Being nerdy is the new hotness I say! I do not wish to be on of those people who’s terrified of double clicking on any desktop icon. Trust me, I know a lot of people who are petrified of testing things around on their PC because they are scared it’s going to blow up on them.

So what do I need to do to become a next level nerd? I’m not certain. For starters, I imagine navigating around my blog site and becoming familiar with it might be a good start. Being Andrew’s friend means being convinced that I should purge my laptop of Windows and use Linux instead, so that’s the next step, happening in February.

Other things I’d like to get nerdy about: mobile phones (I’m just a wannabe junkie, but I think I’d like to get closer to the level that Andrew’s at, I don’t think I’ll be at his level, but half is good enough for me), designing my own website, eventually customize my own PC (my current one is ok, was put together by Jack, but it’s a few years old, so it’s time to think about an upgrade), and just anything and everything!

So, please feel free to get connected with me and share with me your path on how you became a nerd, I’m interested!

Leave a Reply

  • None

Categories

