Sandy Chen

Excel 2003 vs Excel 2007: Your Thoughts

Posted on: January 8, 2010

So here’s the dilemma, I would very much like to upgrade my excel skills, and I’m willing to invest in a “dummies” book to help me along the way, however, I’m not sure if I should pick up the Microsoft Excel 2003 or Microsoft Excel 2007.

The problem is this: I have Excel 2003 at home, so if I’m practicing, I’d be practicing at home, therefore, 2003 would seem the logical thing to learn. That being said, my employer has Excel 2007. I don’t know too in-depth as to how much a of difference 2003 vs 2007 is, so I don’t know if by learning 2003, I can easily transfer those learned skills onto 2007, or if 2007 is a completely different language. So far, the basics seem the same to me, just that 2007 has got a “prettier” look to it. I’m not looking to become an uber advanced user of Excel, but I’d like to become proficient in it enough that I could perform cool little tricks on it, let’s say, for standards sake, I’d like to become and intermediate to advanced user of Excel.

If anyone out there has experience with both, and could help me out in making a decision, that would be super!

1 Response to "Excel 2003 vs Excel 2007: Your Thoughts"

You can check out Mr. Excel for free:

http://www.mrexcel.com/

At one point he was giving away a chapter a day of his book for free…

Leave a Reply

  • None

Categories

